26
Jun
10

The Early Years Pre-Dijicam

This is a photo taken of me, oh, I don’t know, maybe forty-some years ago, back when I was a chick magnet and could play and sing Hank Williams tunes and drink Smirnoff Vodka ’til the sun came up and still put in a good day’s work. Danang, Vietnam 1968 ?

  
Now, that’s a pretty old photo and I was really shocked when the photographer who shot it with his film camera contacted me a few months ago. Ron Meadows, damn, we were sidekicks. He taught me how to play that guitar, or one just like it, 42 years ago!

Well, the world evolved. We have digital stuff everywhere, now. That’s how Ron found me, scanned a photo he probably had stuffed in a shoebox or scrapbook all those years and emailed it to me. He searched for me a long time, before the internet was invented, spent money looking for me, even. After awhile he figured I was dead. Along came the digital age, the internet, scanners, digital (Diji, in Japanese) cameras, Facebook, laptop computers, satellites, GPS, Celular Phones and lithium batteries and I’ll be a sonovbitch if Ron didn’t find me!

Before I really do die we’re gonna get drunk together, maybe, one more time. Thanks, Ron, we’ll do beer and not ride Harleys, OK?

 

4 Responses to “The Early Years Pre-Dijicam”


  1. July 5, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Oh, that is so great! I think you told me this story once already. How cool that he found you. And that is a good photo, young man!

  2. July 5, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Sabina,
    Thanks. Us old guys have trouble reading the fine print. Poor Ron commented for this on the next blog down ! Guess I’ll have to uograde this elcheapo WP Blog one of these days and get a nice one like yours!

  3. July 7, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Great story! So that’s you then, eh? Well, glad to know you now, too.

  4. July 7, 2010 at 12:56 am

    Leigh,
    Thanks. That’s me more than a few beers ago. Totally different person these days, for the better, I hope !

    Cheers,
    Mikie


Leave a Reply

