01
Apr
10

Not in a Writer’s Frame of Mind

This probably happens to the best Writers in the World, sometimes!

You know what I’m talking about.  One of those days where words just don’t flow.

There’s all kinds of advice about it you can read online.

Take ten deep breaths.

Have a coffee break.

Take a hot and cold shower.

Go for a walk.

Do some Yoga.

Ride a bicycle.

Eat chocolate.

Rotate your socks.

Play your favorite music.

Treat yourself to some Ben and Jerry’s ice cream.

Salsa, Lasagna, Pizza

Stand on your head.

Water your plants.

Get drunk and phone home.

Well, I’ve tried them all and nothing seems to work.  Even the damn computers are giving me a hard time, today.

Extracted from an email I just sent:

“I went and fooled around with my Google Blog on the website and think I’ve really screwed it up. The site looks good enough but, I was building an Amazon Camera store and selecting only stuff I wanted to sell. Well, all the HTML Codes and whatnot, I had to copy and paste into a bucha jibberish I don’t understand, obliterated everything! Poor girls in their orange kimonos have POWERED BY GOOGLE on them!
But, other than that the site looks great. Mr Adsense Google may not like it though, I got him beat down to a little skinny banner at the top of the page. Wonder if anybody ever wrote a Google / Adsense / Amazon Affiliate / HTML Codes for Dummies book, yet?”

I’ve discovered, the best thing for me to do is yell at Mr. Google, Amazon Dot Kom, Billybob Gates and MR HTML Codes loud enough for them to hear me through the monitor.  Tomorrow, I bet I’ll be writing.  We’ll see…..

 

13 Responses to “Not in a Writer’s Frame of Mind”


  1. April 1, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Been there, done that and got the T-shirts to prove it. Great picture too! They say one of these is worth a thousand words. I think you probably got 10 times that with this picture…

  2. April 1, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Shot that with my cell phone camera. Didn[t wanna miss the Kodak Moment !

  3. April 1, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    Yes, writer’s block can lead to all kinds of useless activities that don’t need to be done at all. I think blogging helps, though. I hope you’re through it soon!

  4. April 2, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Sabina,
    Coffee’n up now and answering 23 emails. Won’t know if the writing thing’ll kick in until I’m wide awake.
    Maybe, go visit some other blogs and steal ideas !

  5. 5 Beverly J Struble
    April 2, 2010 at 4:27 am

    A picture speaks a thousand words…. think of it as a cleansing yell!!!! great shot!!!!! I will put my “boxed in” self portrait on my blog – same kind a day- diff stuff!! lol heeeh haaa I laugh WITH you my Irish Friend!!! B

  6. April 2, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Bev,
    Well, apparently I didn’t yell enough. Haven’t written anything but comments and emails, all day. That should count as writing, though or at least exercise.
    I’ll go snoop around your blog and see if any inspiringbthoughts pop into my head.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  7. April 2, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Ha – funny post mate! I think rotating your socks is a great idea… if you have any (I don’t!)

    Or, take it back to the old-skool, and start free-writing with pen and paper. I find this can really help.

    • April 2, 2010 at 11:17 pm

      Nick,
      Absolutely. I’d forgotten the hand writing bit, being in a blind rage from these damn PC monitors.
      Some of my most brilliant ideas pop into the front lobe when I’m relaxed at the kitchen table or in someone else’s bar.
      That’d be a great post to do, someday. Shoot some photos of my scribbles on napkins that went digital later.
      Once, I even bought a Corvette Sting Ray from a guy in a bar. We wrote the bill of sale on a napkin!

  8. April 2, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    All I can say is: your words seem to flow beautifully. What are you on about? And that picture is great. Now I need to see how I can proprly ding, ling and ning this piece.

  9. April 3, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Funny post, Mike. I find just writing helps. Anything. The words to a silly song, even bla-bla-bla – one word seems to lead to another 🙂 Oh, and yelling and swearing and throwing things help too. Never fails.

    • April 5, 2010 at 11:23 am

      Sophie,
      Today I took your advice and just forced myself to write. It was probably more of a laziness thing with me than a block. It’s all in the hands of editors, now. Just have to wait and see.

      Cheers,
      Mike


Leave a Reply

