30
Mar
10

Cats and Dogs

Don’t ask me why. For some reason cats and dogs aren’t natural enemies in my part of the world.

The “white rat” of a pup in the photo is my better half’s critter. Allegedly, he’s part Maltese. The other two critters were at the beach with their master. He had a miniture Winnebago-style camper. Well, a Toyota, something or other with a tin house mounted on the back.

Anyway, the guy looked like he’d been drinking sake from a gallon and a half bottle, all night long so, I think he tied his dog and cat on opposite ends of the leash; that way they could walk themselves and save him alot of trouble.

Now when I’m out walking I’ve got two Huskies who don’t realize they’re guests in this country. Cats are natural enemies to them. They were safely out of the way when this photo was snapped; tied to a big tree snapping, barking, foaming at the mouth and trying to uproot the tree and get at the kitten.

This was the first time the little “white rat” ever saw a cat and he looked more interested in figuring out what the rope was for than he was in shaking hands with some strange creature reaching out to him. And I know what the little Pug was thinking. “C’mon, fool. try something stupid”.

Now, the racket the big dogs were making woke-up the old papasan leaning against the rear tire of his camper. So he uses his large sake bottle as a crutch to help him get up on his feet. I lit a smoke for him and asked if I could take a few pictures. “Um” he grunts. That meant OK. He even tried to have me bring the Huskies over for a group photo. I explained that those big dogs were from outa town and there would be a big mess if they got too close to the cat. “Um”; he understood.

Well, now I’m starting to wonder how many other parts of the world have dogs that don’t kill cats, just for the fun of it ?

12 Responses to “Cats and Dogs”


  1. 1 Beverly J Struble
    March 30, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Such a great shot- timing is EVERYthing!! Your description of the Huskies tugging at the tree- the fellow and his Sake crutch!!! Charming!I got a clear picture of the whole setting in my mind-even the smell of the first lit cigge as it swirled around in the ocean air!! Cheers B

  2. March 30, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    Nice picture. I have cats and dogs living with me, and they tend to get along very well, even friendly at times. It is only when they approach the food bowl at the same time that they might become disagreeable.

    • March 30, 2010 at 4:47 pm

      Knew I’d get some discussion when I posted this. Having lots of dogs and some cats over my lifetime, I know, under different circumstances, maybe how they’ve been raised and maybe depending upon the breed, they’ll get along.
      Here, in Okinawa, though, even strays, just hang out on street corners, walk past each other and nobody gets in a scrap. It’s like nothing I’ve seen anywhere before.
      Thanks for stopping in and commenting.

      Cheers,
      Mike

  3. 5 Sumitran
    March 31, 2010 at 5:42 am

    Mike, charming little narrative this 🙂 !

    My personal opinion is that dogs and cats fight only in fables. However, many many years back once in our house back home in India the two fully grown dachshunds that we had chased down a poor kitten, cornered it and mercilessly mauled and killed it. I guess that had more to do with the sudden adrenaline rush that they must have had – especially given the fact that the poor kitty was smaller in size than the two of them. Till date, I don’t accuse them of seriously wanting to kill the kitty.

    Here in Muscat, dogs are considered ‘haram’ (not permitted / allowed / supported by Islam), just as pigs (pork) is. The capital Muscat is a coastal city surrounded on three sides by dry, barren mountains. Muscat is actually set in the dry valley between these mountains. During nighttimes from these mountains packs of wild dogs will descend on to scrounge the city’s many garbage bins / dumps for food. Each pack of these ‘Jebel’ (mountain) dogs number anywhere between 20 – 50 dogs in one pack. They are said to be dangerous and wild.

    Sorry, Mike … I’m rambling. Hectic work lately has made my brain all fuzzy and I think I am also disoriented ! Sorry for wasting your blog’s precious real estate !

    Best wishes,

    Sumitran

  4. March 31, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Sumitran,
    Precious real estate, hah!
    You’re more than welcome to ramble, anywhere I do, on these blog thingys. Even with a fuzzy brain, you taught me things about Muscat, I’d have never known. C’mon back and ramble, anytime. I enjoy your company.

    Cheers,
    Mike

  5. March 31, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    That’s a really cute little dog. The dog/cat enemy thing is something I haven’t notice in a while, since I’m not ever around dogs and cats. I think they’re pretty much terrified of each other if they don’t know each other. It’s an interesting question.

  6. April 1, 2010 at 12:10 am

    Sabina,
    The cute little dog; you mean the pug? The “white rat” is a little criminal. He’s the one who put the teeth marks in my old yellow flip-flops!

  7. April 1, 2010 at 1:33 am

    Sabina,
    Little “Stinky Cheese”, the white dog is around two years old. The wife wouldn’t let me wear my perfectly comfortable flip-flops and go to the Granddaughter’s graduation looking like a raggamuffin. So, she shelled-out 1/2 a month’s pay from mt bloggin’ and got me a brand-spankin’-new pair of yellow ones.

    I could probably do 100 blogs about that dog and the crazy things he’s done.
    Or, when you get settled somewhere, just mail him to you and save myself alot of trouble!

  8. August 6, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww


Leave a Reply

