02
Mar
10

Hey, It’s The 21st Century !

Hah, Just got one of these WordPress Blogs for myself because that’s what all the famous writers are doing. The differences between the real professional writers and myself can’t be all that great that I can’t catch up to them.  Maybe, I’ll even pass them.

We were probably all born in the same Century; not sure how many of us will be sticking around for the next one, though.  But, since watching my youngest Grandson and his classmate from Kindergarten playing with an old Windows 2000 computer, I decided I can learn all this 21st Century technology, too.

The little guys are Japanese.  They don’t read Japanese, let alone English.  The computer, which I call my electric paperweight, probably could be classified as an antique.  Gigabytes weren’t even invented, yet when that 256MB baby was brand new !

So here’s these two little boys with popcicles, poptarts, ice cream, potato chips and whatever else it takes to keep kids quiet when you’re watching them on a rainy day, clowning around on the computer.  It’s on an old coffee table that’s shoved in the kid’s (junk) corner of the living room.  So, Grandpa doesn’t really care about them making a mess.  It can easily be concealed by pulling the drapes over it, if somebody like the wife shows-up.

So I sit in the peace and quiet of my other office at the kitchen table and work on my Laptop doing photography stuff, uninterrupted.  Ocassionally, peek in the room to see what the boys are up to, especially, if it gets quiet for too long or, if you hear the Universal sound for disaster: “UH-OH”.

Well, one time the silence got deafening, so, I figured either they fell asleep or something  really, really bad was going down.  I quietly sneak a peek. And couldn’t believe my eyes.  What they did with that piece of junk computer was unbelieveable.  It made me mad.  It was absolutely infrickincredible !

When I saw what those two kids had done, I made up my mind.  I’m never gonna be afraid to try hitting different buttons again.  Experiment with every new gadget, program, social networking tool, blog, or widget available.  They can’t bite.  And when you get stuck there’s CNTL, ALT, DELETE and ESC.  Backspace, my favorite; I have to repaint that one every now and again so you can read it.  And there’s always the one I learned to use before I got into finding buttons to switch the electronic desk warmers OFF; rip the plug out of the wall.

Grandpa’s gettin’ with the 21st Century……

13 Responses to “Hey, It’s The 21st Century !”


  1. March 2, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Welcome pops, ain’t technology grand!

  2. March 2, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Hey, slick blog, Mike! You didn’t tell me! I really like it, and I like the charcoal color too, as well as the header photo. Great stuff!

    • March 2, 2010 at 12:47 pm

      Sabina,
      Didn’t tell you. I just went and did it about an hour ago. Didn’t have a clue, myself. Just do it. That’s how I get stuff done!
      Not sure I like the way it displays photos on the blog posts, though. Maybe, I’ll go read the directions, someday. I do like the color scheme. Just hope my pix can come out bigger.

      Cheers,
      Mike

  3. March 2, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Welcome to the wonderful world of wordpress, Mike. Your own shot in the header there?

    • March 2, 2010 at 1:07 pm

      Sophie,
      Sure is my shot; wouldn’t think of using anyone else’s. Now, I may read the instructions a bit so I can make the site look professional like everyone else’s. Either that or just keep pushing buttons randomly and see what pops-up !

      Cheers,
      Mike

  4. March 2, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    WordPress is the only way to go- unless you’re a HTML(and all that other stuff) guru.
    Welcome to the modern world Mike

  5. March 3, 2010 at 1:46 am

    Matt,
    Well, I don’t know about GURU but, I swiped some HTML stuff of the www and made a Word Doc so I can Copy and Paste whenever I need it. Does the trick for me. You mean we can’t use that stuff here?

  6. March 4, 2010 at 7:12 am

    Fantastic! One more day of teaching and then my next project is to sort out my blogs so I can join the WP gang too:-)

    • March 4, 2010 at 7:21 am

      Marie,
      Sort them out; what for? Just throw some new stuff together and start with a clean slate. Looking forward to seeing you on WordPress. Pretty sharp, ain’t it?

  7. March 27, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    i actually love your own writing choice, very charming.
    don’t quit and keep writing since it just very well worth to look through it,
    impatient to read a lot more of your posts, enjoy your day 🙂


Leave a Reply

